October 3, 2010

PLENK2010 Week 3: Smarter Data, Smarter People?

Posted in PLENK2010 at 7:12 pm by kristibroom

It’s been an interesting week in PLENK2010. While I’ve researched Web 3.0 a bit in the past, the implications for data connections, and smarter data are always intriguing. Someone in the Elluminate session chat said (paraphrased), when I need the data to find my child, I see the benefit. But, I want to control who sees the data. I don’t want others to be able to find my child, too. Wow.

It makes me think that this isn’t about technology, as so few things really are. It’s about adopting a new set of behaviors in reaction to technological advances. For some, that may mean locking up, shutting off as much of themselves as they can so the data doesn’t find them. I love Paul Ellerman’s representation of Xweb. Others will continue to share quite openly, maybe more than society at large sees as comfortable. My guess is most of us will find a happy medium somewhere that meets our individual needs.

I am also very interested in the part of Rita Kop’s post, which talks about the challenge of networked learning being finding the right information. She says “…research is available to show that not all adult learners are able to critically assess what they find online and might prefer to receive guidance from knowledgeable others.” (Kop, 2010) It makes me think about last week’s discussion of LMS and PLE, and the benefit of fewer choices for some people.

And it also raises the question of how do we find the right resources. And better yet, how do we teach others to do the same. Will xWeb solve this problem for us?

I’m starting to see the connections among all that I am learning in PLENK2010. I look forward to building additional strength in my network as the weeks continue.

References

Kop, R. (2010, 7 19). The eXtended Web and the Personal Learning Environment Retrieved 10 3, 2010, from Plearn Blog: http://ple.elg.ca/blog/?p=444

3 Comments »

  1. Carlos Afonso said,

    On the topic of too many choices: http://www.ted.com/talks/barry_schwartz_on_the_paradox_of_choice.html

  2. kristibroom said,

    Thank you for the link. Quite interesting!

  3. links said,

    I’m pretty sure Google is aware of what type popular platforms all these SEO software can link to and most likely watches them all very carefully.


Leave a Reply

